Congressional Art Competition

2021 Congressional Art Competition

Congressman Michael C. Burgess, MD (TX-26)

Every spring, Congressman Michael Burgess’ office participates in the Congressional Art Competition. This nationwide competition provides an excellent opportunity to showcase the talent of high school students and acknowledge our nation's gifted young adults. Since the U.S. House of Representatives created the competition in 1982, hundreds of thousands of talented high school students have served as artistic ambassadors of their communities.

This annual contest is open to public, private and home-schooled high school students residing in and/or attending schools located in the 26th Congressional District. The guest art jurist for this year’s competition was professional artist/educator, Sharon Warwick.

Kathryn Forehand, a graduating senior at Flower Mound High School, won the 2021 Grand Prize with her oil painting entitled “Boompa & The Girls”. Her art instructor is Suzanne McLeod. As the Grand Prize winner, Kathryn will have her artwork displayed for an entire year in the U.S. Capitol.   


Victor Matute, a graduating senior at Ryan High School in Denton and a student of Todd Ford, won First Place for his charcoal drawing entitled “Jeannette”. Victor will have his artwork displayed in Congressman Burgess’ Lake Dallas district office for the next year. 


For the tenth year, entries were submitted digitally by art teachers on behalf of their students. The public was invited to view the 2021 student entries posted in a virtual gallery on Congressman Burgess’ website and vote online for their favorite artwork.  Over 2400 votes were cast, and the top vote recipient and “Texas Choice” winner was Hannah Coan for her oil pastel entitled “Standing Strong”. Hannah is a junior and student of Gail James at Westlake Academy. For the upcoming year, Hannah’s artwork will also be displayed in Congressman Burgess’ district office. 


In addition, the jurist reviewed the posted artwork and selected a “Best of School” winner for one student from each school based upon her evaluation of their work.  She also determined “Juror's Choice” awards based on her appraisal of artwork that had a high level of artistic merit and execution ranking under that of the Best of School awards.  All of the participating students received a “Certificate of Congressional Recognition.”

2021 26th District of Texas Congressional Art Competition

Best of School Winners:

Valencia Dayani - Tired - Aubrey HS

Ally Ordyna - The Matriarch - Braswell  HS          

Kathryn Forehand - Boompa and the Girls - Flower Mound HS

Reagan Mendeke - Cluttered Mind – Guyer HS                   

Kinsleigh Darter - Human Urbanization - Keller HS                  

Brendon Buchanan - Self Portrait - Lake Dallas HS

Kate Alexander - Luminosity - Legacy Christian Academy    

Hyun-Jee Kim - The Making of – Lewisville HS-Harmon    

Gabrielle Bolden - Gabrielle in Black and White – Little Elm HS

Jailen Hurley - Dog of Innocence - Lone Star HS

Maria Zielinski - Orchids – Marcus HS                                  

Erin Cuarenta - Salmon Nigiri - Prosper HS                  

Pranathi Prasanna - Radiant Dancer – Reedy HS

Victor Matute - Jeannette – Ryan HS           

Christian Elias - Messy Table - Sanger HS        

Ellia He - Even Hours - Steve Ko Studio

Sarah Ann Teaw - Angel Food – TAMS                       

Haley Courtney - Ladybug - The Colony HS               

Jenny Nguyen - Lunch Time - Timber Creek HS

Hannah Coan - Standing Strong – Westlake Academy


Juror’s Choice Awards:

Adrian Deleon - Twins – Aubrey HS

Edwyn Dautrich - Signing Off – Braswell HS

Mackenzie Allen - Peggy’s Garden – Flower Mound HS

Mia Balderas - Cranky – Flower Mound HS

Riti Parampalli - Bridge to the Sea – Flower Mound HS

Melanie Baires - King of the Mountain – Keller HS

Dillon Malone - Derby – Keller HS

Aaron Simmons-Enlow - Losing Light – Keller HS

Allison Strong - Neon Swirl – Lake Dallas HS

Rylie Heaton - Danube Lights – Legacy Christian Academy

Randi Kruse - We’re the Change – Lewisville HS-Harmon

Angel Martinez - Innovation is Limitless – Lewisville HS-Harmon

Ayda Carter - Wondering Plants – Little Elm HS

Rhianna Gabriel - Enigmatic Pieces – Little Elm HS

Madison Mestan - Raspberries – Lone Star HS

Maci Gambrell - Glitch in the Youth – Lone Star HS

Caroline Ranieri - Smile – Marcus HS

Scout Lee - With Liberty and Justice for All – Marcus HS

Kyler Kidwell - Due at 11:59 pm – Marcus HS

Santana Harris - Still Life – Marcus HS

Elie Park - Outdoor Quarantine – Reedy HS

Grace McKeown - Cattle Town – Ryan HS

Kayla Bryant - Beauty in Transparency – Ryan HS

Sashank Merugumuvvala - Outskirts of Downtown Dallas – Steve Ko Art Studio

Jennifer Ai - Supermarket Succulents – TAMS

Kaylee Yu - Catch of the Day – Texas Academy of Math & Science

Haley Richings - Don’t Let Her Back In – The Colony HS

Kenneth Pham - Crazy Lady – The Colony HS

Abigail Henifin - Distortion – The Colony HS

Angela Li - What I See Through the Glass – Timber Creek HS

Hannah Ongmanchi - Acrophobia – Timber Creek HS