Press Releases

Burgess Announces 2022 Academy Appointees

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (R-TX)  is pleased to announce the outstanding students from the 26th Congressional District who have accepted appointments to attend our nation’s service academies.

One of the privileges of serving in the U.S. House of Representatives is the opportunity to nominate young Americans to be considered for appointment to the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, NY, the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis, MD, the U.S. Air Force Academy at Colorado Springs, CO, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, NY. The U.S. Coast Guard Academy at New London, CT does not require a Congressional nomination.

This past November, the Academy Board, chaired by Col. Pat Smith (USAF, Ret.), met to complete an objective, merit-based review of applicants’ files and conduct personal interviews. Following this work, the board presented their nomination recommendations to Congressman Burgess.

The incoming Class of 2026 service academy appointees was recently honored at a reception hosted by the City of The Colony. Mayor Richard Boyer welcomed the appointees and their families and members of Congressman Burgess’ Service Academy Board. The colors were presented by the American Legion Holley-Riddle Post 21 Honor Guard.
At the reception, each appointee in attendance was presented with a Special Certificate of Congressional Recognition and a flag flown over the U.S. Capitol at the request of Congressman Burgess in honor of their appointments. These appointees reside in the 26th Congressional District and received a competitive nomination from Members of Congress, the Vice President, or one of the Academy Superintendents.

U.S. Military Academy:                              
Jacob Bowersock (Fort Worth)
Mason Davis (Denton)
Michael Davis (Denton)                                
Ylan Duong (Roanoke)
Bryson Werntz (Bartonville)
Jungyun Yang (Frisco)

U.S. Naval Academy:
Lauren Faria    (Flower Mound)
Jaewon Lee (Frisco)
Jacob Rodriguez (Argyle)
Matthew Robinson (Frisco)

U.S. Air Force Academy:
Sam Brown (Fort Worth)
Gabriella Czajkowski (Keller)
Manning Fike (Roanoke)
Julian Toledo  (Fort Worth)
Reagan Tubbs (Flower Mound)

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy:
Isaac Berry (Little Elm)
Zane Box (Lantana)
Caleb Green (Flower Mound)
Zachary Martin (Haltom City)
Zachary Ohlemeier(Argyle)

U.S. Coast Guard  Academy:
Derek Kim (Little Elm)
Brody Stankowski (Frisco)

Academy Appointees Photo (left to right):
Front Row: Caleb Green, Gabriella Czajkowski, Lauren Faria, Jungyun Yang
Back Row: Reagan Tubbs, Zachary Ohlemeier, Manning Fike, Jacob Rodriguez, Mason Davis, Michael Davis