Press Releases

Burgess introduces bill to repeal SGR formula, preserve Medicare integrity


Congressman Michael C. Burgess today, introduced H.R. 1470, the “SGR Repeal and Medicare Provider Payment Modernization Act of 2015,” which repeals the Sustainable Growth Rate (SGR) formula and replaces it with a long-term sustainable plan.  The bipartisan bill is an important advancement in long-fought efforts to comprehensively reform the Medicare system in order to promote higher quality care for seniors, physicians, and providers.

The legislation will prevent harmful cuts to Medicare providers that threaten seniors’ access to care. Ultimately, the agreement will preserve Medicare’s integrity by putting an end to costly year-by-year “patches,” and provide reassurance to seniors with access to quality care they deserve.

“As a doctor, I know first-hand just how destructive the SGR formula has been to America’s seniors and their providers,” Burgess said.  “Finally, after unparalleled progress in recent years, both sides of the aisle have begun to understand that the long-term solvency of our Medicare system depends on taking this fight head-on together.

“Permanently repealing the SGR puts medical experts back in charge of measuring quality care, stamps out unnecessary barriers between seniors and their doctors, and begins to address the single largest driver of our debt.  This is a clear opportunity to do what is right for the American people, and a paramount first step toward accomplishing real – meaningful – entitlement reforms.”

The bill was introduced by a bipartisan coalition consisting of Rep. Michael C. Burgess, M.D (R-TX), House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI), House Energy and Commerce Committee Ranking Member Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ), House Energy and Commerce Health Subcommittee Chairman Joe Pitts (R-PA), Rep. Charles Boustany (R-LA), House Energy and Commerce Health Subcommittee Ranking Member Gene Green (D-TX), House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Paul Ryan (R-WI), House Ways and Means Committee Ranking Member Sander Levin (D-MI), House Ways and Means Health Subcommittee Chairman Kevin Brady (R-TX), and Ways and Means Health Subcommittee Ranking Member Jim McDermott (D-WA).