Press Releases

Burgess Announces 2014 Academy Appointees

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (TX-26) today announced the students from the 26th District of Texas who have accepted appointments to the United States Service Academies. Academies that the students will be attending include the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, NY, the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis, MD, the U.S. Coast Guard Academy at New London, CT, the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, NY, and the U.S. Air Force Academy at Colorado Springs, CO. 

"I was pleased to nominate outstanding young men and women who will be the future leaders of our Armed Forces and America,” Congressman Burgess said. “I am even more delighted and grateful that these future leaders have accepted this challenge to serve their country." 

Recently, Congressman Burgess honored these young people at a reception hosted by the City of Denton, the Denton Airport and the Denton Airshow.  He presented the appointees with a Special Certificate of Congressional Recognition and an American flag flown over the U.S. Capitol in honor of their appointments. 

Students requesting appointments to the U.S. Service Academies are rigorously evaluated on a variety of criteria including academic performance, leadership qualifications and physical preparedness. Appointments to an academy must be preceded by a nomination from a Member of Congress, Academy Superintendent, the Vice President or a military connected nomination. The exception is to the U.S. Coast Guard Academy, where a nomination is not required for consideration, but appointments are based upon a competitive nationwide admissions process. 

Special guests at the reception were U.S. Congressman Sam Graves (MO-6) and several 2014 West Point graduates, including U.S. Army 2nd Lieutenants Donald LeBlanc of The Colony and Damon Paulo of Keller.  

Those students from the 26th Congressional District entering the service academies are: 

U.S. Military Academy

James Callan (Flower Mound)
Brendan McGuire (Flower Mound)
Blaise Paulo (Keller)
Nicholas Shelton (Keller)
Micky Willis (Frisco)

U.S. Naval Academy

Matthew Goodpaster (Argyle)
Hawk Griffin (Little Elm)
Brandon Jones (Keller)
Austin Rhodes (Keller)
Jordan Simmons (Keller)
Brady Whitfield (Roanoke)

U.S. Air Force Academy

Jennie Bruggeman (Keller)
Katie Burnham (Roanoke)
Madison Charland (Keller)
Benn Hawkins (Argyle)
Hunter Morrow (Fort Worth)
Trey Pujats (Keller)

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
Briana Buderus (Flower Mound)
Andrew Guidry (Little Elm)

U.S. Coast Guard Academy

Ryan Dandan (Trophy Club)
John Groen (Denton)
Greg Wilcox (Lake Dallas)

Photo: Pictured at the Denton Airport in front of the P-51D Mustang "Pecos Bill" owned by Cowden Ward  of  the “Freedom Flyers” organization. CLICK HERE FOR PHOTO.

(L-R): Katie Burnham, Hunter Morrow, James Callan, Matthew Goodpaster, Madison Charland, Benn Hawkins, Congressman Michael Burgess, Austin Rhodes, Congressman Sam Graves, Trey Pujats,  Micky Willis, Jennie Bruggeman, 2nd LT Donald LeBlanc, Brady Whitfield, Blaise Paulo.