Below are just some of the awards Dr. Burgess has received while serving in Congress.



Humanitarian Award
Alzheimer's Association

Certificate of Appreciation

Alpha Company 2-112 AR of Denton, TX

Texas Celebration on the Hill

American Cancer Society Relay for Life

Legislator of the Year

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners

Visionary Award

American Academy of Ophthalmology

2009 Congressional Leadership Award

American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons

In Recognition

American Health Quality Assoc.

Gift-of-Life Legislator of the Year

American Society of Transplantation

Hero of the Taxpayer

Americans for Tax Reform (ATR)

Champion of the Merit Shop

Associated Builders and Contractors

Outstanding Citizen for Seniors

Award Dinner

House Award

Century Council

Recognition for Legislative Achievements

Children’s Medical Center of Dallas

Taxpayer Hero

Council for Citizens Against Govt Waste

Distinguished Design-Build Leader

Design Build Institute of America

2012 Distinguished Public Service Award
Digestive Disease National Coalition

Public Service Award

Emergency Nurses Association

True Blue

Family Research Council

Thomas Jefferson Award

Food Marketing Inst. And Int'l Foodservice Dist. Assoc.

Framed Article that MCB authored

Fort Worth Star-Telegram

2017 FreedomFighter Award 

Battleground 2004

Hammer Award

Champion of Health Care Innovation Healthcare Leadership Council

HOSA Award


Ronald Reagan Award

House Republican Conference

Thomas Jefferson Award

International Foodservice Distributors Association

2010 Mayor's Passport to Health

Mayor's Passport to Health

Champion of Motorcyclists' Rights and Safety

Motorcycle Riders Foundation

House Legislator of the Year

Multiple Sclerosis Society

Certificate of Appreciation for Perfect Voting

National Assoc. of Wheat Growers

Award of Legislative Excellence

National Association of Manufacturers

Guardian of Small Business

National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB)

Confluence Awards

National Safe Boating Council

"A" and Tax Fighter Award

National Tax Limitation Committee

Taxpayers' Friend Award

National Taxpayers Union

Outstanding Legislator

North TX Chapter of Am College of Surgeons

Certificate of Appreciation

Purple Heart Military Order

Small Business Champion

SBE Council

Small Business Advocate

Small Business Survival Committee (SBSC)

Life-Saving Award

Southlake Department of Safety

Legislator of the Year

SouthWest Transit Assoc. (SWTA)

Federal Fighter for Free Enterprise

Texas Assoc. of Business (TAB)

In Appreciation

Texas Health Resources

Benjamin Franklin

The 60 Plus Association

Defender of Economic Freedom

The Club for Growth

Taxpayer Hero

The Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Friend of the T

Trinity Railway Express

Spirit of Enterprise

U.S. Chamber of Commerce

"A" In English

U.S. English, Inc.

Lifetime Member

University of Texas Medical School at Houston Alumni Association