Press Releases

Burgess Announces Class of 2022 Service Academy Appointees

Lake Dallas, T.X. – Congressman Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (TX-26), Chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Subcommittee on Health, today announced the Class of 2022 Service Academy Appointees from the 26th Congressional District. This summer these young men and women will be entering the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, N.Y., the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis, M.D., the U.S. Air Force Academy at Colorado Springs, C.O., and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, N.Y.

"I was honored to nominate outstanding young men and women as they begin a career in service to our country,” said Dr. Burgess. β€œThe Armed Forces are our arsenal of democracy, and our most critical resource. On behalf of the 26th Congressional District, I commend these young men and women who have pursued and accepted the call to serve.”

Pictured: Dr. Burgess and 2018 Service Academy Appointees from TX-26

Students requesting appointments to the U.S. Service Academies are evaluated rigorously on a variety of criteria including academic performance, leadership qualifications, and physical preparedness. Appointments to an academy must be preceded by a nomination from a Member of Congress, Academy Superintendent, the Vice President or a military-connected nomination.

This morning, Dr. Burgess honored these appointees at a reception hosted by The City of The Colony. During the ceremony, American Legion Holley-Riddle Post 21 presented the Colors.    

The students residing in the 26th Congressional District entering the service academies are as follows:

U.S. Military Academy                                            

Clayton Brewer (Keller)                                

Hunter Cochran (Westlake)                           

Ben McAfee (Sanger)                                    

Charles McCartney (Trophy Club)                            

Matthew Musser (North Richland Hills)

Brenden Stanton (Flower Mound)

Joshua Williams (Frisco)

U.S. Naval Academy

Duke Carrillo (Flower Mound)

Dylan Carrillo (Flower Mound)

Katherine Halbert (Keller)

Lexis Nelson (Keller) 

Nick Sigman (Frisco)

Peng Thang (Lewisville)

U.S. Air Force Academy

Rayomand Bam (Flower Mound)                              

Brayden Dragoo (Flower Mound)

Alicia Kwasny (Keller)

Moh-Julien Ntchobo (North Richland Hills)

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

Hayden Grant (Trophy Club)

Michael Sobieski (Frisco)