Burgess Announces Class of 2021 Service Academy Appointees
Posted by on June 5, 2017 | comments
f t # e

Denton, TX - Congressman Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (TX-26), Chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Subcommittee on Health, last week announced the Class of 2021 Service Academy Appointees from the 26th Congressional District. This summer these young men and women will be entering the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, NY, the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis, MD, the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, NY, and the U.S. Air Force Academy at Colorado Springs, CO.

"I was pleased to nominate outstanding young men and women who will be the future leaders of our Armed Forces and America,” said Dr. Burgess. “I am even more delighted and grateful that these future leaders have accepted this challenge to serve their country."

Students requesting appointments to the U.S. Service Academies are evaluated rigorously on a variety of criteria including academic performance, leadership qualifications, and physical preparedness. Appointments to an academy must be preceded by a nomination from a Member of Congress, Academy Superintendent, the Vice President or a military connected nomination.

Last week, Dr. Burgess honored these appointees as a reception hosted by the City of Denton and the Denton Enterprise Airport. Special guests at the reception included 2017 U.S. Air Force Academy graduates, U.S. Air Force 2nd Lt Stevan Bacchus-Grant of Fort Worth and U.S. Air Force 2nd Lt Reagan Fentress of Denton, and members of the Vietnam Veterans of America – Chapter 920.


The students residing in the 26th Congressional District entering the service academies are as follows:

US Military Academy                                   

Emersen Bribiesca (Keller)

Ben Ferguson (Argyle)

Aaron Horikami (Flower Mound)

Ben McCleery Ben (Keller)

Elias Mitchell (Trophy Club)

US Naval Academy

Preston Rhodes (Keller)

Sam Rice (Flower Mound)

Justin Rosas (Fort Worth)

Justin Self (Keller)

Jarvian Wigfall (Denton)

US Air Force Academy

David Bearden (Argyle)

Joshua Block (Argyle)

Joseph Carlson (Frisco)

Leo Cheshire (Frisco)

Joseph Morin (Roanoke)

Alexander Nguyen (Keller)

Jackson Trent (Flower Mound)

Nathan Yu (Flower Mound)

US Merchant Marine Academy

Kellin Tompkins (Lakewood Village)

Hunter Wyssbrod (Frisco)

f t # e