Click here 
to download the 2013 Congressional Veteran Commendation Poster.

The Congressional Veteran Commendation, in conjunction with the Veterans History Project sponsored by the Library of Congress, has been created to honor the distinguished veterans of Texas’ 26th Congressional District and to preserve their stories for future generations of Americans.

To nominate a veteran for the Congressional Veteran Commendation, please download the 2013 nomination form.  The completed nomination form, along with any additional information pertaining to the veteran's service, should be returned to my Lewisville office

The deadline for submitting nominations for this year's CVC is September 9, 2013.  Veterans who are nominated must be currently residing in the 26th District of Texas and have served our nation with honor consistent with the finest traditions of military service. The nominated veterans must also have served their community. A Review Board comprised of past commendation recipients will review the nominations and make recommendations.  Up to five individuals will be named to receive the 26th Congressional District Veteran Commendation for 2013.

I will publicly recognize those individuals selected to receive the Congressional Veteran Commendation at the annual “Salute Our Veterans” luncheon sponsored by the Highland Village Business Association on November 12, 2013.  Also, an in-depth interview will be conducted with commendees, and that interview will be forwarded to the Veterans History Project to be added to the Library of Congress collection.  For more information regarding the project, visit
To obtain additional information regarding the Congressional Veteran Commendation, the Veterans History Project, nomination forms, or to confirm residency within the 26th District of Texas, please contact my Deputy District Director, Robin Vaughan, by phone at (972) 434-9700 or via email to

Past Congressional Veteran Commendation recipients are:

  • Robert Baird (Lieutenant Colonel - U.S. Army), Lantana
  • Victor Durrance (Sergeant - U.S. Army Air Force), Gainesville
  • Andrew Fortunato (Lieutenant Colonel  - U.S. Marine Corps), Keller
  • Joe Gray (Colonel - U.S. Army), North Richland Hills
  • Mugg Pawless (Private First Class - U.S. Army), Gainesville


  • Gary Alexander (Corporal - Marines), Gainesville
  • Julius Fambry (1st Sergeant - Army), The Colony
  • Donald Langa (Lieutenant Commander - Navy), Denton
  • Joe M. Leonard, Jr. (Captain - Army), Gainesville
  • Leroy M. Williamson, Sr. (1st Lieutenant - Army/Air Force), Denton


  • Major Lee Roy Keith, (U.S. Marine Corps), Denton
  • Sergeant Arlen Ray Mayfield, Jr., (U.S. Army), Lewisville
  • Master Sergeant Guy Northrup, (U.S. Marine Corps), Lewisville
  • Colonel Larry Patterson, (U.S. Army), Highland Village
  • Major Richard Stewart, (U.S. Army/U.S. Air Force), Denton


  • Corporal Arthur F. Berg (U.S. Army), Lewisville
  • Colonel Ernest L. Isbell (U.S. Army, Ret.), Highland Village
  • Captain Hank Scheible (U.S. Air Force, Ret.), Denton


  • Staff Sergeant Mark H. Graunke, Jr. (U.S. Marine Corps), Denton
  • Commander Robert Heid (U.S. Navy, Ret.), Flower Mound
  • Sergeant Donald W. Pettigrew (U.S. Marine Corps), Gainesville
  • Colonel Walter W. Pine (U.S. Army/U.S. Air Force, Ret.), Keller
  • Major Earl L. Russell, III (U.S. Army/Army Reserve, Ret.), Gainesville


  • LtCol Walter Dyer (USAF, Ret.), Highland Village
  • Col Susanne Hechinger (USAF, TX ANG, Ret.), Flower Mound
  • Col James P. Mariades (USMC, Ret.), Copper Canyon
  • LtCol Edward “Red” Weir (U.S. Air Corps/Air Forces, USAF, Ret.), Denton
  • Capt William B. Springfield (USMC, Ret.), Flower Mound


  • SgtMaj Thomas Blagg (USMC, Ret.), Denton
  • Mr. Woodrow Wilson Burch, Jr., (U.S. Army/U.S. Air Force), Denton
  • LtCol Ivan N. Glasscock (USAF, Ret.), Denton


  • Mr. Johnnie Bulen (U.S. Army), Lewisville
  • LtGen Charles R. Hamm, (USAF, Ret.), Argyle
  • Mr. Reby Cary (U.S. Coast Guard), Fort Worth